sfjazz festival 2012 schedule

SFJAZZ Festival 2012 schedule was released today and includes Esperanza Spalding, Sonny Rollins, Ornette Coleman, and many other worldly renown jazz artists. The Festival kicks off its 30th anniversary on August 25th with Grammy Award winning artist Esperanza Spalding playing the Paramount Theater. Performances will continue throughout the Bay Area until December 7th. Tickets to SFJazz Festival are available on July 22nd at 10am PST.

“21st Century Superstar”
Find tickets: Esperanza Spalding Radio Music Society
Saturday, August 25, 8:00pm
Paramount Theatre, Oakland

“Some Skunk Funk”
Find tickets: Brecker Brothers Band Reunion with Randy Brecker, Mike Stern & Dave Weckl
Friday, September 28, 8:00pm
Herbst Theatre

“’80s Miles Revisited”
Find tickets: Miles Smiles with Wallace Roney, Bill Evans, Robben Ford, Joey DeFrancesco, Darryl Jones & Omar Hakim
Saturday, September 29, 8:00pm
Herbst Theatre

“Saxophone Colossus”
Find tickets: Sonny Rollins
Sunday, September 30, 8:30pm
Davies Symphony Hall

“Heart of Havana”
Find tickets: Septeto Nacional Ignacio Piñeiro de Cuba
Thursday, October 4, 7:30pm
Jewish Community Center of San Francisco

“Sacred Space”
Find tickets: Branford Marsalis, solo
Friday, October 5, 8:00pm
Grace Cathedral

“Hallelujah!”
Find tickets: Don Byron New Gospel Quintet
Saturday, October 6, 8:00pm
YBCA Forum

“Monk’s Birthday: Three Generations”
Find tickets: Barry Harris, Jacky Terrasson, Alfredo Rodriguez
Wednesday, October 10, 7:30pm
Herbst Theatre

“Renaissance Man”
Find tickets: Marcus Miller
Thursday, October 11, 7:30pm
Herbst Theatre

“Pride of Panama”
Find tickets: Danilo Pérez Trio
Sunday, October 14, 7:00pm
S.F. Conservatory of Music

“Puerto Rico Meets Cuba”
Find tickets: Jerry & Andy Gonzalez; Elio Villafranca & Arturo Stable
Thursday, October 18, 7:30pm
Herbst Theatre

“Absolute Artistry”
Find tickets: Eliane Elias
Friday, October 19, 8:00pm
Herbst Theatre

“Vocal Virtuosity”
Find tickets: Dianne Reeves
Saturday, October 20, 8:00pm
Herbst Theatre

“Border Music”
Find tickets: Marc Ribot & David Hidalgo
Wednesday, October 24, 7:30pm
Palace of Fine Arts Theatre

“Forró Party!”
Find tickets: Gilberto Gil
Thursday, October 25, 7:30pm
Paramount Theatre, Oakland

“Bill Plays, Mary Sings:”
Find tickets: Mary Stallings with the Bill Charlap Trio
Friday, October 26, 8:00pm
Herbst Theatre

“New York’s Finest”
Find tickets: Tony Malaby’s Tamarindo with William Parker & Mark Ferber
Saturday, October 27, 8:00pm
Swedish American Hall

“Carrying the Torch”
Find tickets: Grégoire Maret Quartet
Sunday, October 28, 2:00pm
Florence Gould Theatre, Legion of Honor

“The Vibe”
Find tickets: Robert Glasper Experiment
Thursday, November 1, 8:00pm
Palace of Fine Arts Theatre

“Interplay”
Find tickets: SFJAZZ High School All-Stars Combo
Friday, November 2, 8:00pm
The Jazzschool, Berkeley

“Brazil Unplugged”
Find tickets: Ivan Lins
Saturday, November 3, 8:00pm
Palace of Fine Arts Theatre

“Cha-Cha-Cha!”
Find tickets: Orquesta Aragón
Sunday, November 4, 7:00pm
Palace of Fine Arts Theatre

“Sound Grammar”
Find tickets: Ornette Coleman
Friday, November 9, 8:00pm
Davies Symphony Hall

“The Real K.C.”
Find tickets: Lavay Smith & Her Red Hot Skillet Lickers
Swingin’ the Blues: The Kansas City Sound
Saturday, November 10, 8:00pm

“One of a Kind”
Find tickets: Buika
Friday, November 16, 8:00pm
Herbst Theatre

“Celebrating Django Reinhardt”
Find tickets: Dorado Schmitt and the Django All-Stars
Saturday, November 17, 8:00pm
Herbst Theatre
Non-Members $25/$40/$60 Premium
Members: $19/$30/$45 Premium

“MMW Minus 2”
Find tickets: John Medeski, solo
Sunday, November 18, 2:00pm
Florence Gould Theatre, Legion of Honor

“Dear Diz”
Find tickets: Arturo Sandoval
Saturday, December 1, 8:00pm
Herbst Theatre

“The Holiday Gospel Show”
Find tickets: Blind Boys of Alabama “Go Tell it on the Mountain”
Sunday, December 2, 7:00pm
Herbst Theatre

“The Magic of Monk”
Find tickets: SFJAZZ High School All-Stars Orchestra
Friday, December 7, 8:00pm
YBCA Forum